Dr. KerryAnn O'Meara 

KerryAnn O'Meara is Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Graduate Studies in the College of Education, a Professor of Higher Education and Director of the ADVANCE Program at the University of Maryland, College Park. Dr. O'Meara's research examines organizational practices that support or limit the full participation of diverse faculty and the legitimacy of diverse scholarship in the academy with an eye toward changing those practices to be more inclusive, equitable and agency-enhancing for all faculty.  Her recent work examines how work environments influence faculty agency and departure, the role of peer networks in advancing equity and inclusion, and gender equity in workload and distribution of campus service.  Her work has been published in the Journal of Higher Education, Review of Higher Education, Research in Higher Education and Gender and Education, among other venues. Professor O'Meara is P.I. of the NSF funded ADVANCE IHE-PLAN, Faculty Workload and Rewards Project (2015-2020), an action research project to design and implement department-based organizational practices that make faculty workloads more transparent and equitable. She consults with higher education institutions interested in adapting their promotion and tenure policies to acknowledge broader definitions of scholarship and support diverse faculty and to reform their workload, retention, and faculty development systems.  


KerryAnn received her BA in English Literature from Loyola University in Maryland, her MA in Higher Education from The Ohio State University, and her Ph.D. in Education Policy from the University of Maryland. KerryAnn spent two years working as a Research Associate at Harvard University's Project on Faculty Appointments, and six years on the faculty at the University of Massachusetts Amherst before joining the faculty at the University of Maryland College Park in Fall, 2007. She teaches courses on the Academic Profession, Organizational Change in Higher Education, Women in Higher Education, Ranking Systems in Higher Education and a Doctoral Proseminar.

KerryAnn received the Outstanding Teacher of the Year award (University of Massachusetts, 2003), Early Career Research Award (IARSCLE, 2008), Graduate Mentor of the Year Award (University of Maryland, 2012), and Outstanding Woman of the Year Award (University of Maryland, 2013) for her work advancing women at UMD. In 2014 she became a Fellow of the Academy of Community Engaged Scholarship. KerryAnn serves on the Editorial Review Board of the Journal of Higher Education. In 2017 KerryAnn received an Award of Distinction from the Ohio State University for making a difference in the lives of others through outstanding professional, personal, and community contributions. For over eight years, she has served as Director of the University of Maryland’s ADVANCE program, an institution-wide effort to invest in the professional growth, retention, and advancement of diverse faculty in ways that improve work environments for all.

KerryAnn lives in Columbia, MD with her three daughters and partner Dan Schreier. She is a lifelong fan of anything Lord of the Rings, Pat Conroy/ Charleston, South Carolina, the national women's soccer team, and Long Beach Island, NJ.

Honors & Awards

Award of Distinction, The Ohio State University (2017)

Academy of Community Engaged Scholarship, Fellow (2014)

Outstanding Woman of the Year
University of Maryland, (2013).

Graduate Mentor of the Year Award
University of Maryland, (2012).

Early Career Research Award
International Association for Research on Service-Learning and Community Engagement, (2008).

Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award
School of Education, University of Massachusetts Amherst, (2003).

Emerging Leader Award
National Society for Experiential Education, (1998).